rotary running gear

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

urtwhistle

hey all,
im new to this scene and i'm trying to work out every thing on paper for when i build my car.

i will be putting a lexus v8 into a 240-260z 1 way or another.

i have been trying to find which will be the best running gear for this swap. being that i live in perth there are a hell of alot more rotary then supra's around. and i shore as hell aint gonna attepmt and ford or holden gear box swaps because there plane and simply weak apparently.

does any 1 know if u can get a rotary 5 speed to bolt to a v8? i know dellows make adapter bell houseings but im not sure what model name or number or brand im looking for when i look at gear boxs in the post.

if any 1 can tell me wat im going to need to do this swap it will be greatly appreciated

urty

Nothing that ever went into a standard rotary is going to take the grund of the V8.

Rotary engine produce negligable torque but gobs of HP. That is why you have to rev the whatsists off them to make em go. I had a rotary powered MGB in the early 70's (showing my age) and it wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding until 4,000rpm at which point it went started to get going. Would rev to 8,000 no worry but still no torque to speak of.

If you want to go manual the only choice is Toyota if you want longevity.

ok cheers man, soo a supra 5 speed is the go,
which should i go for or mores the point which 1's shouldnt i touch. my goal in the end is to be having 350 hp at the wheels 1 day
cheers

i have a s5 13b turbo in my ae86 sprinter.... standard box is weak as... will swap out for an r154 when i can afford another one.

here (sydney) most of the big rotor boys are running supra boxes behind their turbo 13b's.. that should tell you how tuff the toyo boxes are... heck, even the holden/ford boys are running supra boxes behind their boat anchors.

Zuffen said: